PDA

View Full Version : Funny glitch in "XXX-Stacy" level


John
04-25-2005, 06:39 AM
Anybody ever done this?

jimbob
04-25-2005, 07:30 AM
wel, thats not really a glitch, they just pile up when they cant go any further http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif i have a conveyor in one of my map that transports lots of pipebombs too, but i made it so that they dont stop anywhere and create an illusion that they are infinitely going by

Geoffrey
04-25-2005, 09:59 AM
You can do some awesome things by stacking pipebombs. If you do it good enough you can create ( I usually do this in e1l1, on the streets ) stacks of pipebombs that go 3 or 4 floors up. If you detone them then ( or shoot them with a shotgun or something ) you'll get a massive firedragon thing, they'll explode in a very funny way http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Cerberus_e
04-25-2005, 12:16 PM
Geoffrey said:
You can do some awesome things by stacking pipebombs. If you do it good enough you can create ( I usually do this in e1l1, on the streets ) stacks of pipebombs that go 3 or 4 floors up. If you detone them then ( or shoot them with a shotgun or something ) you'll get a massive firedragon thing, they'll explode in a very funny way http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif



care to provide a .dmo? http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Geoffrey
04-25-2005, 12:22 PM
That won't really work that well with Jonof but I have tons of screens on my other pc, I'll go and snag them http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

edit! for some reason my photobucket thing isn't working so it's just this one now http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif Not my best DRAGON OF FIRE but it's still a nice one http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

Steve
04-25-2005, 10:52 PM
I did that when Duke3d was first relased. I covered the whole of the first level in pipebombs then detonated them. Needless to say my 486 didn't like it http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Dr. Kill
04-25-2005, 10:56 PM
funny sh*t!

avatar_58
04-25-2005, 11:11 PM
Reminds me of the times I did that in goldeneye.....KABOOOM!!!! Enough to crackle the speakers on your TV whilst bringing the fps to a halt http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Chip
04-26-2005, 09:37 AM
Is that really the first level?
It seems to be lacking it's detail like the guitly sign to the right and the road looks rather big.

jimbob
04-26-2005, 10:07 AM
Chip said:
Is that really the first level?
It seems to be lacking it's detail like the guitly sign to the right and the road looks rather big.

if there are too many sprites drawn at once some dissapear, so in this case the guilty sign could have temporarily dissapeared because of all the explosions/shrapnell.

Chip
04-26-2005, 10:23 AM
jimbob said:

Chip said:
Is that really the first level?
It seems to be lacking it's detail like the guitly sign to the right and the road looks rather big.

if there are too many sprites drawn at once some dissapear, so in this case the guilty sign could have temporarily dissapeared because of all the explosions/shrapnell.



Where were you when I said I had this problem and no one beleived me?

I knew other people must have encounterd it.

jimbob
04-26-2005, 11:15 AM
Chip said:

jimbob said:

Chip said:
Is that really the first level?
It seems to be lacking it's detail like the guitly sign to the right and the road looks rather big.

if there are too many sprites drawn at once some dissapear, so in this case the guilty sign could have temporarily dissapeared because of all the explosions/shrapnell.



Where were you when I said I had this problem and no one beleived me?

I knew other people must have encounterd it.

im always around /makes spooky sound
i must have missed the thread. the dissapearing sprite trick is easy. just place a ton of pipebombs and enemie`s in a empty singular level map and shoot it with another pipebomb or something, if there are enough explosions and shrapnell and other sprites then the game temporarily does not render several of them until the number of sprites drops. if you overdo it though the game quits and gives you the age old "too many sprites drawn" error.
this is not a jonof post thing though, i had it back in 1998 aswel allot when i was modding and made a crude nuke ( by spawning allot of explosions )

http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Geoffrey
04-26-2005, 12:22 PM
Did someone say shrapnel? http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v693/fakirnogwat/Shrapnel.png

Water12356
04-26-2005, 12:34 PM
Humidity's rising, barometer's getting low,
According to all sources, the street's the place to go.
Coz tonight, for the first time, at just about half past ten,
For the first time in history, it's gonna start raining lead!

It's raining lead, Hallelujah, it's raining lead, Amen,
It's raining lead, Hallelujah, it's raining lead, Amen.

http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Dr. Kill
04-26-2005, 03:33 PM
I just remembered. One time in the Sega Saturn version, I put tons of pipebombs in the level. I used the all weapons code a lot of times. When I blew them up, the game jammed, and I got to stare at the best looking duke explosion i've seen. The thing that made it look so cool was the real lighting effects.

John
04-27-2005, 10:47 AM
Yeah I heard that the Sega Saturn port of the game was the best port to come out.

Dr. Kill
04-27-2005, 08:32 PM
it was. I still have it. I have Duke for PC, Saturn, PlayStation, and N64. The saturn and pc versions are the best.