PDA

View Full Version : Emulator detected! Please deactivate virtual drive and emulation software.


Snowy
08-03-2006, 07:50 PM
Ok... so when I try and run Prey, I get this error... "Please deactivate virtual drive and emulation software."... What does this mean? I have to uninstall my Damen tools? If so, that's just stupid.... I installed PREY last night, so I could play it at Quakecon... and to find out, I can't run it... :confused:
Please tell me there is away around this... I don't want to have to uninstall all my games, just to play PREY...

If there is no way around, you can expect me to be returing the game at Walmart.

Thanks,
Snowy

avatar_58
08-03-2006, 07:58 PM
Shot in the dark here - deactive daemon tools? As in - shut off the drives and close the program. Really its not a big deal, I have daemon tools installed but I just don't bother to run it unless I need to mount an image.

Snowy
08-03-2006, 09:31 PM
I've exited Daemon tools, and it says the same thing.

avatar_58
08-03-2006, 09:34 PM
I've exited Daemon tools, and it says the same thing.

Have you disabled it? Unmount any images and then turn off drive emulation in the program and THEN close it.

Snowy
08-03-2006, 09:42 PM
Hmm... if I doubble click on the little icon, and I click "Unmount All Drives", will that make it so I can't play other games without the CD?

avatar_58
08-03-2006, 09:49 PM
Hmm... if I doubble click on the little icon, and I click "Unmount All Drives", will that make it so I can't play other games without the CD?

What? Why do you have every image mounted at once? I can't help you there, I only use daemon tools to mount images WHEN I need them. In order to play Prey you are going to have to unmount all drives and then "set number of devices" to "disable" to fully disable Daemon tools.

Then just remount your images when you want to use it later.

Snowy
08-04-2006, 07:05 PM
I get this error now
A required security module can not be activated. This program can not be executed.

Adabiviak
08-05-2006, 12:52 AM
Not a single game of mine has ever noticed that I run Daemon Tools. When I hover the mouse over the icon, it's "Virtual DAEMON Manager V4.00HE". All four drives have images on them. All options and emulations are checked. All of my games are first-person shooters. What version are you using?

Snowy
08-05-2006, 05:25 PM
I'm using V4.03.....

shakoor_h
08-12-2006, 10:08 AM
Try using CureRom, I think it should hide your virtual drives or Securom Loader for Daemon Tools v4 (even if you aren't trying to use a copy of a game).

Swede
08-13-2006, 09:37 AM
Just gets tiresome when the developers keeps forcing us legtimitate buyers of a game to have the cd/dvd's in the player.

But i too have np using Daemon tools together with Prey.

lauwie0
08-14-2006, 02:12 PM
I have the same problem and also have an original copy from prey.

The reason this happens is because i have deamon tools installed and activated.
When you start up prey there is a program called securerom that looks for anything that is on its blacklist, including deamon tools. Even if you are using the original copy of prey this program will still look for any applications activated that are on its blacklist.

There is a LEGAL program that deactivates the blacklist called Curerom, which is free for download.

Download Here (http://forum.curerom.net/showthread.php?tid=111) (use BETA 2, other ones are bugged)

Next time you want to run prey, first start up curerom after that just run the game.

I hope this helps,
- Lauwie0

WARNING!: Plz keep in mind that Curerom is only for use of original bought copies of games and when used for pirated copies or unlegal copies, you will be violating the law of Copyright

jizaboz
08-31-2006, 04:10 PM
Hmmm that's weird... I've got Daemon and PowerISO installed and active just about all of the time... never got this error. Perhaps it only happens in the CDROM version?