3D Realms Forums

3D Realms Forums (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/index.php)
-   Duke Nukem Forever (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Specs needed to run DNF (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/showthread.php?t=38100)

ferran275 09-01-2010 07:02 AM

Specs needed to run DNF
 
I'm sure this has been discussed before but I looked and couldn't find anything on the subject (promise!). So seeing as this game will obviously be very heavy graphically what do you all think will be needed to run it at highest settings? I have an Xbox but I don't want to play it on their, you lose so many of the little things on a console, it seems like this game that was built strictly for PC.

That being said I tried to run Mafia II on my pc at lowest settings and it was terribly choppy, guess its time for an upgrade :( I just don't know if thats just an upgrade for the video card or new ram too :confused: any help?

Steve 09-01-2010 07:09 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ferran275 (Post 944709)
any help?

Wait until the game is released.

The Dukenator 09-01-2010 07:13 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Depends what your current specs are now.
Usually, games on consoles are the same on PC, but certain things have been redesigned.

ferran275 09-01-2010 07:13 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve (Post 944711)
Wait until the game is released.

oh GREAT idea, so I should wait until midnight opening day, get the game, go home, OH NO! it doesn't work! stare at a blank screen until 8AM when Best Buy opens and get shafted paying at least $100 more on a card that I could have researched and had the time to shop around for. No really, that's a really great idea Steve :doh:

Rapture_Rising 09-01-2010 07:22 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ferran275 (Post 944713)
oh GREAT idea, so I should wait until midnight opening day, get the game, go home, OH NO! it doesn't work! stare at a blank screen until 8AM when Best Buy opens and get shafted paying at least $100 more on a card that I could have researched and had the time to shop around for. No really, that's a really great idea Steve :doh:

They might release the specs before they release the game so if people want to play they will have time to upgrade.

My judgement im guessing 512mb graphics should cover it nicely, it aint going to have graphics like crysis.

predl 09-01-2010 07:25 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ferran275 (Post 944713)
oh GREAT idea, so I should wait until midnight opening day, get the game, go home, OH NO! it doesn't work! stare at a blank screen until 8AM when Best Buy opens and get shafted paying at least $100 more on a card that I could have researched and had the time to shop around for. No really, that's a really great idea Steve :doh:

When the game is officially announced you will get your specs!!!!! :doh::doh:

alex d 09-01-2010 07:33 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
There's a choice of two things to do:

1) Wait until the game's actually in the open like Steve said and put a machine together based on the firm, hard, factual specs released by whoever's making it.

2) Have some common sense, look at what the average high-end game requires right now and spec above that.

If you buy a shit hot computer now then chances are it'll be more than enough for DNF if it's really relatively near release. Ya know, a 100+ DX11 card, atleast 4gb of ram and a Core i5 or i7 should boat along nicely on virtually anything.

If you spec for low-end or mid-range then you're obviously running the risk of only being able to run it with the graphical settings turned down to low.

ferran275 09-01-2010 07:41 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by alex d (Post 944717)
There's a choice of two things to do:

1) Wait until the game's actually in the open like Steve said and put a machine together based on the firm, hard, factual specs released by whoever's making it.

2) Have some common sense, look at what the average high-end game requires right now and spec above that.

If you buy a shit hot computer now then chances are it'll be more than enough for DNF if it's really relatively near release. Ya know, a 100+ DX11 card, atleast 4gb of ram and a Core i5 or i7 should boat along nicely on virtually anything.

If you spec for low-end or mid-range then you're obviously running the risk of only being able to run it with the graphical settings turned down to low.

Yeah, I guess I'll just wait, my system is 'ok' now, I can run Fallout 3 at almost highest settings with no lag at all, but anything newer starts to slow down. GTA IV and Mafia II being the biggest examples, I can hardly run GTA and can't run Mafia II at all, well... I CAN but its awful :( I'll just need to upgrade the whole thing, I'm only running dual cores at 2.40 GHz, and my card is a nvidia 7800 with only 2 GB of RAM. Time to start saving pennies!

crunchy superman 09-01-2010 07:43 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ferran275 (Post 944709)
I'm sure this has been discussed before but I looked and couldn't find anything on the subject (promise!). So seeing as this game will obviously be very heavy graphically what do you all think will be needed to run it at highest settings? I have an Xbox but I don't want to play it on their, you lose so many of the little things on a console, it seems like this game that was built strictly for PC.

That being said I tried to run Mafia II on my pc at lowest settings and it was terribly choppy, guess its time for an upgrade :( I just don't know if thats just an upgrade for the video card or new ram too :confused: any help?

Why would you think that anyone here could give you recommended system specs on a game that hasn't been announced (or existence even confirmed) by a developer that also hasn't even been officially named?

I'm sure we'll get such information and then you'll have plenty of time before release.

alexgk 09-01-2010 07:44 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
I remember this being part of an old F.A.Q., something like: "Don't buy anything for your PC until we say you can"

Stevey Boy 09-01-2010 07:50 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Buy an Xbox 360 and not have to worry about it not running, or any other game for that matter:p:p

Really, who knows, it may never even come out

Golden Diva 09-01-2010 07:52 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ferran275 (Post 944720)
Yeah, I guess I'll just wait, my system is 'ok' now, I can run Fallout 3 at almost highest settings with no lag at all, but anything newer starts to slow down. GTA IV and Mafia II being the biggest examples, I can hardly run GTA and can't run Mafia II at all, well... I CAN but its awful :( I'll just need to upgrade the whole thing, I'm only running dual cores at 2.40 GHz, and my card is a nvidia 7800 with only 2 GB of RAM. Time to start saving pennies!

What's the native resolution of your display ?
I guess your CPU is a Core 2 duo E6600, right ?
If you are considering a full upgrade of your rig for DNF only, my best advice would be to wait for a release date... If the game is really worked on and sceduled to be released in 2011, you can wait for Intel's Sandy Bridge and the next Radeon generation coming soon.
But i guess a S1156 based rig, with a Core I5 760 and a GTX 460 would allow you to play DNF on the highest settings, with AA8X and AF16X. (it's only a guess, based on the engine they use and what I've seen from the leaked footage)
That is if the game is actually playable one day of course. :cool:

ferran275 09-01-2010 07:57 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crunchy superman (Post 944721)
Why would you think that anyone here could give you recommended system specs on a game that hasn't been announced (or existence even confirmed) by a developer that also hasn't even been officially named?

I'm sure we'll get such information and then you'll have plenty of time before release.

the question is more like what do you THINK the specs will be, a general question about what kind of bad ass system you'll need to run a game like that, not specifically DNF, I guess the title is a little misleading :censored:

---------- Post added at 07:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:56 AM ----------

Quote:

Originally Posted by Golden Diva (Post 944725)
What's the native resolution of your display ?
I guess your CPU is a Core 2 duo E6600, right ?
If you are considering a full upgrade of your rig for DNF only, my best advice would be to wait for a release date... If the game is really worked on and sceduled to be released in 2011, you can wait for Intel's Sandy Bridge and the next Radeon generation coming soon.
But i guess a S1156 based rig, with a Core I5 760 and a GTX 460 would allow you to play DNF on the highest settings, with AA8X and AF16X. (it's only a guess, based on the engine they use and what I've seen from the leaked footage)
That is if the game is actually playable one day of course. :cool:

yeah, this is more of what I was looking for, and I think I will wait :)

Golden Diva 09-01-2010 08:42 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Stevey Boy (Post 944724)
Buy an Xbox 360 and not have to worry about it not running, or any other game for that matter:p:p

Really, who knows, it may never even come out

He has said in his first post that he owns an Xbox dut doesn't want to use it for DNF.
By the way, he can buy a crap PC and not have to worry about it running ... with crap settings. That's about the same as getting an Xbox. :censored:

Jeff 09-01-2010 08:46 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Based on what I saw in the trailer in 2007 as well as the updated one, I would way anything built within the last couple years could run it on at least minimum settings.

I currently run Mass Effect 2 somewhere between 50-100 FPS. I can't really remember. I'll have to check when I get home. If I can run that, which was made in 2010 and on a newer engine than Unreal 2-2.5, then I should be good.

I was planning on upgrading to a Sandy Bridge 6 or 8 core next year for FSX as well as other stuff I do, and if that won't run DNF, I don't know what will. :p

Dark Rabbit 09-01-2010 08:51 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
I would say that it would be better to wait until the game comes out, as some of the graphics cards might be obsolete by then if bought now. Or, for all we know, it might not take that much in cards, as my computer can still run games like that, and it's about 4 years old. :cool:

peoplessi 09-01-2010 09:33 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ferran275 (Post 944713)
oh GREAT idea, so I should wait until midnight opening day, get the game, go home, OH NO! it doesn't work! stare at a blank screen until 8AM when Best Buy opens and get shafted paying at least $100 more on a card that I could have researched and had the time to shop around for. No really, that's a really great idea Steve :doh:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5773539/billyy.gif

That is 100% what was said, and meant by what was said. You are impeccable fine Sir. When you buy your PC parts from Best Buy - you get shafted every time, so I guess you are used to it by now?

Just wait, don't go Full Retard on the forums. When "DNF" is finally announced, for real - you will have all the info you need to make your savvy purchases before DNF is released.

Reaper89 09-01-2010 09:53 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
1. Buy new PC (Quad-core, and good video card)
2. Sell previous PC
3. Wait till DNF Announcement
4. ????
5. PROFIT!!

Start right now, and you'll be ok.

ferran275 09-01-2010 10:16 AM

Re: Specs needed to run DNF
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Reaper89 (Post 944761)
1. Buy new PC (Quad-core, and good video card)
2. Sell previous PC
3. Wait till DNF Announcement
4. ????
5. PROFIT!!

Start right now, and you'll be ok.

LOLZ

I'll get right on it!

Simpson's references FTW! :D


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Website is 1987-2014 Apogee Software, Ltd.
Ideas and messages posted here become property of Apogee Software Ltd.