3D Realms Forums

3D Realms Forums (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/index.php)
-   Shadow Warrior Source Code (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Shadow Warrior Re-texturing Project (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/showthread.php?t=10732)

DLT 04-04-2005 07:51 PM

Shadow Warrior Re-texturing Project
 
I had a spare few hours for the first time in ages tonight so I thought I would test out the hightile option.

And just like in duke 3d it worked great.

http://members.lycos.co.uk/rosspolo2/Duke3dnew/Sw/

unzip the lot to your shadow warrior folder.

Ecmaster76 04-04-2005 08:01 PM

Re: High tile test
 
...and so it begins again

http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...mlins/love.gif

TropicalHyena 04-04-2005 08:11 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Excellent. What programs do you use to extract/see the original textures? If I had that program, I'd start making my own. All I need is the numbers of the originals, and what they looked like.

Parkar 04-04-2005 08:17 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Great work, Finaly the sw hrp folder is no longer without textures http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

Plagman 04-04-2005 08:51 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Screeeeeeeeenshots please !

Ecmaster76 04-04-2005 09:00 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Inoticed that the uppercase blue letters are the same as in Duke, so I am will go ahead and do high res versions of the lowercase which should be ready in a few days.

Dukeres works, but it displays with inverted colors.

I also found an openGL viewer/extrator but it requires the .art to be extracted and the palette.dat. It displays correctly, but the UI is inferior to dukeres.


http://www.bur.st/~duke3d/files/util...gl_editart.zip

drvarek 04-05-2005 04:37 AM

Re: High tile test
 
i was also testing hires tiles & stuff and i found a problem!
skyboxes don't work! after they load into game and show up in level, they disappear and reset a lores sky

Psykomanius 04-05-2005 06:16 AM

Re: High tile test
 
1 Attachment(s)
I can't run the High tile.
I only got this error:

Initialising timer
Loading sound and graphics...
initcache(): Initialised with 33554432 bytes
Warning: Failed including DEFS.CON on line sw.def:5
Definitions file loaded.
Setting video mode 1024x768 (32-bit fullscreen)

I do not have a DEFS:CON in my SW dir http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...s/confused.gif

drvarek 04-05-2005 06:29 AM

Re: High tile test
 
just remove the line "include DEFS.CON" in your sw.def

Psykomanius 04-05-2005 06:37 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Thanks. It works http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...mlins/wink.gif

Rider 04-05-2005 10:20 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Where can I find the textures? I want to see if they work properly!

Ras 04-05-2005 11:58 AM

Re: High tile test
 
On the first level, go down the stairs outside and to the end room. There should be some monsters hiding behind boxes with the replaced texture.

Deth 04-05-2005 02:57 PM

Re: High tile test
 
1 Attachment(s)
Anime pics on level 1

Clicky

Roma Loom 04-05-2005 05:52 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Quote:

TropicalHyena said:
Excellent. What programs do you use to extract/see the original textures? If I had that program, I'd start making my own. All I need is the numbers of the originals, and what they looked like.

You may try GRPViewer (click the link in my sig). All You have to do is extract "palette.dat" from "sw.grp", copy it to GRPViewer's directory replacing the existing one. GRPV will load this palette on startup.

Phayzon 04-05-2005 05:53 PM

Re: High tile test
 
You should make Gviewer to support jfDuke and jfSW, Roma Loom.

drvarek 04-05-2005 06:36 PM

Re: High tile test
 
i've made more than 650 highres textures for jfSW. only problem is that i cannot post them because they are modifyed version of original textures! http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/frown.gif

also, this picture features 1st model for jfSW (model is same as in jfduke, but with different skin)

http://img123.exs.cx/img123/3310/swcp00001uu.jpg

Mod edit: unnecessarily large in-line image changed into a link

Phayzon 04-05-2005 06:37 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Coolness

Damien_Azreal 04-05-2005 07:03 PM

Re: High tile test
 
It would be cool if we could the high res texture a sortof anime look. Add to the style of the game a little bit.

Just a thought.

CorpusC 04-06-2005 12:11 AM

Re: High tile test
 
OMG DLT, those wood textures are sahWEEET!

Psykomanius 04-07-2005 10:26 AM

Re: High tile test
 
OMG. I love the modifyed textures http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...emlins/eek.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...emlins/eek.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...emlins/eek.gif

Geoffrey 04-07-2005 01:52 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Hm this is the first time I've tried to recreate a texture in hi-res.. I haven't made anything for Duke's hi-res pack which I'm ashamed about since I REALLY enjoy playing it, so I'm trying to make myself useful with sw instead http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0002.png

I overdid the blur a bit there.. but still I think it's nice for a first try http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif Comments and such are welcome! It tiles, btw http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...mlins/grin.gif

Oh: definetexture 002 0 0 0 -1 -1 highres/textures/0002.png

Parkar 04-07-2005 02:44 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Looks good except like you said its a bit blurry. I think you should try to fix that. A texture like that one almost can't get to sharp. If you made it using layers andhave the bars arounf it on separate layer try to redo them and make them realy sharp. After testing ingame you can add a bit of blurryness to it if it looks so sharp it looks cut together.

TerminX 04-07-2005 02:52 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Just remember guys, the same rules from the Duke retexturing project apply here -- no content from 3DR, period.

Geoffery, that texture looks nice. A bit too blurry as has been noted, however. Nonetheless, keep up the good work!

Ras 04-07-2005 03:21 PM

Re: High tile test
 
It's probably one of those, "If you have to ask, forget it" deals, but is there anywhere to get pointers about making textures to work with the ports? Maybe something in the "sprightly appearance" thread?

Parkar 04-07-2005 03:33 PM

Re: High tile test
 
download that hightile test further up in this thread and stufy how its made. There is probably several posts on it I know I have writen a couple so just search for my name in the duke3dsource forum, and add the key word "duke3d.def". It should not take to long to find this way.

Ecmaster76 04-07-2005 05:55 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Damn, uppercases are slightly different after all.

Will have blue font and small fonts this weekend probably.

Ras 04-07-2005 06:53 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Thanks, Parkar, I'll give that a try.

Geoffrey 04-08-2005 12:56 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Thanks for the advice http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif I've made all the edges sharper, made the 'background' ( everything besides the tubes and the main plate ) a tad darker and I've fixed some tile problems in the corners.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...at/0002New.png

Dandy! And finally I've resized it to 128X128 because
a) 256 is a bit big for a ventplate
b) it washes away my ****ups http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...at/0002128.png

I don't know which size looks better so I posted both http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

Parkar 04-08-2005 01:14 AM

Re: High tile test
 
looks better, I think the shading on the bars is still a bit blurry. If you used photoshops bevel layer effect then try to change its mode from soft to chisel hard or chisel soft.

When it comes to size, I asume the original is a 64x64. If we are going by the same quality standard as in duke we would make it a 256x256 image. Resampleing the image down like you did is a pretty coomon practice, Infact I do that on all my textures. On this texture I would have worked 512x512 and then scale down to 256x256 when done.

Geoffrey 04-08-2005 01:38 AM

Re: High tile test
 
I'll start editing again then http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

In the meantime I've made textures #0003 and #0004:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0003.png

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0004.png

I'll try to make the shading in #0002 sharper, like I did in texture #0004 http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

Edit: this is the final version of this texture I'm making; trying to fix things in one place is only making it look faker in other places http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif If anyone wants to re-do this one later that's ok http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6.../0002Again.png

I don't even know if the difference is.. visable http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...s/confused.gif

Parkar 04-08-2005 02:03 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Good work on the textures.

djimd 04-08-2005 02:48 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Lol with all these textures popping up - be ready for sw_hrp by the weekend. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...mlins/wink.gif

Geoffrey 04-08-2005 03:54 AM

Re: High tile test
 
0006 - 0009 http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0006.png

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0007.png

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0008.png

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0009.png

Btw, just to be sure, using textures/ parts of textures from free texture sites is ok right?

TerminX 04-08-2005 04:11 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Only if said source textures are explicitly stated to be public domain.

Geoffrey 04-08-2005 04:13 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Just checked and it's ok! Pfew http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

edit: oh and here's texture #0005, it's the same as #0002 only grey:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0005.png

Parkar 04-08-2005 04:36 AM

Re: High tile test
 
sw_hrp is growing pretty fast.

Geoffrey 04-08-2005 08:25 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Texture #0234, with a little 3dmax help this time:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ogwat/0234.png

Now to fill it with books for the other 2 textures http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...ins/tongue.gif

Rider 04-08-2005 09:15 AM

Re: High tile test
 
hint: add another dim light from the front so the shadows don't apear completely black...

other then that, looking good!

Geoffrey 04-08-2005 09:51 AM

Re: High tile test
 
Actually the original tile is very dark in those areas as well, some pixels even have the darkest color possible in the sw pal omg eek http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif

DLT 04-08-2005 01:02 PM

Re: High tile test
 
Great work Geoffrey! http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...lins/smile.gif


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Website is 1987-2014 Apogee Software, Ltd.
Ideas and messages posted here become property of Apogee Software Ltd.