3D Realms Forums

3D Realms Forums (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/index.php)
-   Programming Forum (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   C++ books (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/showthread.php?t=14291)

Falciform 11-14-2005 10:36 PM

C++ books

I'm a recent physics graduate and am wanting to add programming to my list of skills, so I'm wondering if any of you have any advise on a good C++ book to learn from. I'm learning C right now (three days into it and I'm on logic statements, while, do while, if, reading and writing to and from files, etc) and I think I'm going to move to C++ after getting all the basics down. A good book that goes through things progressively with exercises (like homework) to drive the points home is what I'm looking for.

After that I was thinking of delving into game programming some to add some flavor. Any suggestions on books for that?

I appreciate you help!

dark_angel 11-15-2005 02:10 AM

Re: C++ books

If you want to be a proficient C++ programmer I recommend you to get C++ Primer Plus book. Excellent one for novice programmers.

What are you waiting for, you have 10 days to finish reading it http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthread...mlins/wink.gif

DudeMiester 11-15-2005 11:10 PM

afaik an earlier edition of that book is what got me started with C++.

dark_angel 11-16-2005 12:19 AM

The two books that got me into OOP/UML and C# are Sams C# Primer plus and Apress Beginning C# Objects: From Concepts to Code. Two excellent books!

JackpotDen 11-16-2005 12:32 PM

I;m currently learning C++ with "C++ For dummies". Nice disk with everything in, and the writer has a sense of humour.

Kristian Joensen 11-16-2005 05:15 PM

I'am curious why C++, do you enjoy writing unnecessary and unreadable code ?

JackpotDen 11-16-2005 05:39 PM

Quote:

Kristian Joensen said:

Game companies ask for that?

Quote:

Rare asks for:
GAMES PROGRAMMERS