Forum Archive

Go Back   3D Realms Forums > General Topics > Software Forum
Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 02-10-2010, 02:41 AM   #1
nickel_black
Maya vs 3Ds Max for beginners
Hello there,

I am confused whether to learn Autodeskís Maya or Autodeskís 3Ds Max first. I did some research... they are both the same price, both of their cases look appealing (and by the same amount). So, I'm really confused.

Let's get back to business. I am a student and as such, I have limited time for learning these programs. I am also planning on learning the other after learning one of them. A read that they are extremely time consuming to learn and thatís what I lack in. Online articles and discussions indicate that 3Ds Max is good in creating game engines and that kinda stuff, Maya is more powerful in movie related stuffs. Both of them can do vice versa but not so efficiently, and I don't care as I am neither a game developer nor a movie producer. I just want to learn the easier one first so that I can save time learning the other lately and still being able to do works until then. The availability of eBooks and tutorials is necessary, but not to decide over the easier program.

My friends and classmates can chat in facebook and do light gaming at their best, so I never even thought about getting their recommendation. I donít know any professionals in this kinda stuff. So, I depend solely on your advices and recommendations. You see, I'm a student, and those programs are $$$$, so I donít want to make mistakes.