Forum Archive

Go Back   3D Realms Forums > General Topics > Programming Forum
Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 10-08-2006, 01:41 PM   #1
cathode26
Game Programming Classes
I am a computer science student at the University of North Texas. I have taken two game programming classes with Dr. Ian Parberry. A 2d and 3d game programming class. www.larc.unt.edu Incase you want a free academic 3d game engine, the Sage Engine.

I feel like I don't know these topics that well.

Ray Tracing
Quaternions
Interpolation
Animation
Rendering

Would you suggest staying an extra year (graduating in a year) and trying to learn as much as I can or graduating (now) and learning on the job?

Do you know if 3d realms will hire programmers that will have to be trained in those topics?

-Vincent
Last edited by cathode26; 10-08-2006 at 04:29 PM.
Old 10-08-2006, 02:11 PM   #2
Jiminator

Re: Game Programming Classes
frankly bud i doubt the courses are going to take you anywhere. geme companies are probably looking for people with skills and talents. Knowing the basics, although useful, is not very useful. using the skills to make your own game to showcase your talents, now that would be a good thing.
Old 10-08-2006, 02:47 PM   #3
Odin

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiminathare View Post
Knowing the basics, although useful, is not very useful.
.what
Old 10-08-2006, 02:59 PM   #4
Sang

^I was just thinking that
Old 10-08-2006, 02:59 PM   #5
Tang Lung

Haha!

Contradiction thread revival?

MOON PRINCESS POWER!
Old 10-08-2006, 03:06 PM   #6
Kristian Joensen

Well the typical advice I see from industry folks is that having a degree shows that you are upto finishing long term projects. That ofcourse is only the case if you actually DO finish the degree.

I know next to nothing about the topics you mention but I am sure that there are alot of resources out there on the net that you can use in ADDITION to learning those things at school.