PDA

View Full Version : worst you've lost to save-game corruptions?


ixfd64
03-22-2005, 12:40 AM
We all know that games can be unstable, and sometimes, our save-game files may be corrupted. So have any of you ever lost a save-file you worked so hard on due to some stupid bug? Well, I certainly have.

The worst I've lost is a Hexen-save game file that I had gotten pretty far in without cheating. I've lost my Super Mario World and Super Mario All-Stars files quite a few times, too.

Oh, and I also lost my save-game file for The Incredible Machine 3, on which I had all the levels completed.

Ugh.

John
03-22-2005, 01:34 AM
Let's see here.

I've lost literally hundreds of Fallout 2 saved games. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

I lost afew "in the middle of the game" Max Payne 2 saved games.

Hmmm...Once I loaded from my saved game in HL2 (which was in the beginning, Red Letter Day), and I played it from that point all the way passed the Prison levels, and then HL2 gave me a "file corruption error, must restart", and all of the quicksaves I had pushed throughout the sitting were destroyed. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif That made me not wanna play HL2 for about a week. So then I went back to Fallout 2 http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

No matter how many times my files get corrupted in Fallout 2, I will keep playing it. Guess I'm going to have to move them to a seperate folder everytime I save them. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/doh.gif

thefly
03-22-2005, 01:42 AM
I've lost literally hundreds of Fallout 2 saved games.



Heh, yeah. I was going to say Fallout 2. Damn those saved games.

I remember having a bitch of a time getting through the lobby before you reach the President (had to get past a bitch of a security system). Saved after that. Ended up corrupted. I was so pissed, that after I beat the game, I made it my goal to go through all the cities and kill everyone I could find. When my goal was almost reached, my saved games crapped out on my again. Never did kill them all. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

John
03-22-2005, 01:48 AM
Fallout 2's "quicksave" system really messed with me sometimes.

AFter you press F5 for the first time, it requires you to choose which slot you're going to save to.

There has been so many times where I've played through a whole town, gotten awhole bunch of gold and items, and then I went to press the quicksave button but I accidently pressed the load button. The screen came up, and it looked like the normal "Choose your quicksave slot" and I clicked a game to overwrite it and...and...it loaded it. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/doh.gif DAMN YOU QUICKSAVE.

thefly
03-22-2005, 01:52 AM
^Yeah, I'm a quick save whore. It really is a disease. I hate saving so much, but I've done it since i've been playing Sierra "quest" games.

I guess I just hate having to reclaim the same ground I've already covered, in case of accidental death. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Certainly the worst was CivIII. Damn I saved waaay too much.

Duoae
03-22-2005, 03:55 AM
Why have i never lost a save-game to corruption? Am i unique?

The only times i've come close to "losing" a save game file have been when i have played planescape torment and played it so long that i've come to a point where i need to reinstall my PC. For some reason, i can't just stick the files in the folder and so i generally give up because i can't face being at the begining again. I still have those save games.....

Bludd
03-22-2005, 06:04 AM
I lost my baddest Morrowind character. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

... I don't want to talk about it.

Needle
03-22-2005, 06:07 AM
Bludd said:
I lost my baddest Morrowind character. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

... I don't want to talk about it.


Happened to me too. Had to reinstall windows, forgot to make backups.

I haven't played Morrowind ever since. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Enragiated
03-22-2005, 06:09 AM
I lost all my duke nukem 3d saves when I updated to high resolution pack.

http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif

Theseus314
03-22-2005, 06:16 AM
Morrowind. I don't even want to talk about how much I lost. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Karthik
03-22-2005, 06:25 AM
Well Haegemonia's uninstaller, actually removed everything after installation........stupid nulsoft installer!

Wamplet
03-22-2005, 08:29 AM
All of my Star Wars games were corrupted. I forget the exact game, but I think it was Dark force 2 or something. After a certain point in playing they all got corrupted. I ended up just taking the game back to Microcenter. At the time, that was one of the few places that took back opened software.

Other than that, I had saved up my Quest for Glory save game and import files for when they made QFG5. Unfortunately, the disks never made it, and I had to replay through the entire series on 2 more occasions, in which the games never held up on disk. I managed to play through all 5 games finally last year. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/redface.gif

Damien_Azreal
03-22-2005, 09:10 AM
I lost my Painkiller saves a few months ago. All terrot cards, every level 5-stared. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

And I also lost a GTA3 save a long time ago. I was sitting at 98% done... and then it was gone. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Phait
03-22-2005, 09:46 AM
I've found that you can't really backup save games. At least not in my experience - just never worked. Especially with Fallout.

pec
03-22-2005, 10:20 AM
Duoae said:
Why have i never lost a save-game to corruption? Am i unique?



No, because you belong to the SCU group. (SCU=Smart Computer User). http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I don't like to say that the other users are stupid or something, but I think it's stupid to run an unstable game on some unstable system and complain afterwards that you lost your save-games to corruption. Or stupid to run a DOS game on a Windows XP system and wonder about all the bugs. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/doh.gif

Logic Bomb
03-22-2005, 10:21 AM
I am another morrowind sufferer. Luckily i didn't lose the character but lets just say i didn't realise the crap was dead before i saved.... it was a painful experience and kind of threw me off the game admitantly.

- LB

Duoae
03-22-2005, 11:04 AM
That's one of the reasons why i have multiple save games in each game (if possible). I have a main one, a quicksave one and a main two. I update the main two every once in a while at the same time as the main one which i update more frequently - usually before exiting the game - and i use the quicksave one the most.

Damien_Azreal
03-22-2005, 04:01 PM
Well, save games being corrupted isn't always the falt of the user.

My Painkiller saves got corrupted by installing a patch. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

And my GTA3 saves got messed up because someone figured out my password to windows. I was gonna back up those saves later that day to. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/doh.gif

John
03-22-2005, 04:39 PM
phait said:
I've found that you can't really backup save games. At least not in my experience - just never worked. Especially with Fallout.



This is incorrect.

Ever goto "My Documents" and see a folder called "Games" or "Saved Games" ? You can back those up.

And um...for Fallout, you do this.


C:\Program Files\BlackIsle\Fallout2\DATA\SAVEGAME

Or whatever your install dir is.


You can backup saved games there too.


http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif No wonder you think Chronicles of Riddick is a bad game. You don't know how to save properly.

Phait
03-22-2005, 04:59 PM
Er, CoR's save system has nothing to do with any of my dislikes with the game http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tinyted.gif

John
03-22-2005, 05:05 PM
Yeah ok, sure Phait...

*looks around*.... <font color="brown"> CoR OWNS YOU. </font> http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/love.gif

Mr.Blud
03-22-2005, 05:32 PM
I never quicksave, I just use the regular saves.

Simon Charles
03-22-2005, 05:35 PM
The first Final Fantasy for the NES. I was at the last boss, Chaos, and the save game died. There was only one save slot back then so you either continued or lost everything and start from scratch. I lost everything.

To this day, I'm still pissed about not knowing what Chaos looked like. He was supposed to be one of the hardest-hitting boss in history, and I never got to fight or even see him. All because of a stupid save game. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/brickwall.gif

Gryph
03-22-2005, 05:39 PM
I backup all my saves incase anything happens. However, I once lost all my Call of Duty saves because I had installed it on my Windows drive because I had no room on the others so when I reformatted after a problem, all those got wiped out.

GrkFire611
03-22-2005, 05:54 PM
About a year or two ago, since quite a few of my Xbox-owning friends had raved to me about the game, I bought Knights of the Old Republic for PC and played up to the planet of the Jedi (I believe it was Dantooine?). It was not very far in the game, but I had accomplished quite a bit, completing most (if not all) of the quests along the way and getting past a good amount of tough bits.

And then, as I was taking my test to determine what type of Jedi I would be, the game locked up, as it had done about a hundred times before. I was just getting used to the game being an unstable POS on my machine, because in all actuality, it was pretty fun. I could overlook the [very] occasional bluescreen if it meant enjoying the game. However, when I went to load up my save after the latest crash, I noticed that my save slot thumbnail picture was all corrupted. Bye-bye save. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif I haven't been back to that game since.

It didn't help that no one at the Bioware forums could legitimately answer why the game wouldn't run in a remotely stable fashion on a computer that exceeded its every system requirement. [shrug]

Guess it doesn't beat the PS2 memory card that I have had for over 4 years dying early this winter, though. So many save games... gone. Granted, most of them I don't play anymore, but my awesome MGS3, GTA:SA, and SSX3 saves got killed, too. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Ecmaster76
03-22-2005, 06:05 PM
Back before I could drive I was playing Baldur's Gate. The game (and computer) crashed and crashed big as I was saving. I rebooted the system and it wouldn't even recognize my hard drive. I tried to fix for an hour and then it just randomly found the drive again. A thorough scan of the drive revealed that the game had tried to save on a bad sector or something. Crazy. I had another save, but it was a ways back.

Both the KotORs were crash happy when I played them. The first one, at least, autosaved everytime you zoned. Which was good cause it dumped me to desktop as soon as it got done saving and started loading (~33% of the time). That was ant ATI problem, fixed by the time the sequal was released, but I had a lot of hard locks and the game saved less often (damn thing).

Ivan
03-22-2005, 06:10 PM
Worst one was when I was playing Max Payne 2. Well actually it wasn't really important but that's the only time one of my saved games was corrupted. I had finished the game many times before anyway. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

ixfd64
03-22-2005, 06:44 PM
It seems that Doom II files will sometimes corrupt if an Arch-Vile is present.

I now play it safe and make backups of my save-files, but then again, I often forget to update the backups. :P

Yatta
03-22-2005, 07:55 PM
Not exactly due to corruptions, but I lost my savegames for all the games I had after I reformatted. I had a lot of games, too. I knew it would happen, but I was too lazy to back them up and spend time restoring them individually (which would sometimes not work unless I also backed up the registry http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mryuck.gif).

Superczar
03-23-2005, 02:28 AM
Simon Charles said:
The first Final Fantasy for the NES. I was at the last boss, Chaos, and the save game died. There was only one save slot back then so you either continued or lost everything and start from scratch. I lost everything.

To this day, I'm still pissed about not knowing what Chaos looked like. He was supposed to be one of the hardest-hitting boss in history, and I never got to fight or even see him. All because of a stupid save game. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/brickwall.gif



You didn't miss anything, he wasn't all that impressive, especially if you had a high level Black Belt in your party...



My biggest save corruption was with my 70th level ProgressQuest character... I dunno how many hundreds of hours I left my computer running and then all of a sudden the save file got corrupted... http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif

motionblur
03-23-2005, 12:15 PM
Nothing - I don't value Savegames that high.

I would be pissed if I had a Diablo2 savegame with a level 99 character and lost that .... that *would* suck. But I don't have one.

XPM
03-23-2005, 12:24 PM
motionblur said:
Nothing - I value Savegames.

I be pissed. I had a Diablo2 savegame with a level 99 character and lost that .... that suck..




:P


Happened to me http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif played the game for 3 frikkin months

Cerberus_e
03-23-2005, 12:51 PM
yes, installing patches corrupts most of the savegames, but not the autosaves at the start of the level (painkiller) so damien azreal you can load an autosave on the map.
if you still have them, Painkiller is so obnoxious to delete your oldest savegame when writing a new one.

and, I've lost my Doom 2 savegame, now I'll never fight the end boss.
doom 2 was corrupted twice http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/redface.gif
and it's doom95, not the ancient one

AlienAssKicker
03-23-2005, 07:08 PM
Fallout 2. I had to restart the game 8 times before I could finish it. And it would always lose my saves when I was quite far.

But it was damn worth it. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/love.gif


My Unreal saves. I had about 7 levels left before finishing the game. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
I will restart it, someday. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tinyted.gif

KillerByte
03-24-2005, 06:20 AM
My housemate just lost his GTA: San Andreas savegame. The game lists it as usual, but when he tries to load the game it always fails. He was at around 75% complete. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Zztx
03-28-2005, 05:13 PM
Not necessarily corruption, but sheer recklessness:
My brother and I had our individual Gran Turismo 2 savegames. His sucks, I did all the REAL work for him, winning races and all.
Mine was awesome, though; I was actually beating all the races in the game. I had gotten a Super License, won the final international racing series, and had a nice car collection.

Then one I day, I accidentally overwrote my awesome file with his.

Damn damn damn damn damn damn damn damn! http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/doh.gif

Duoae
03-28-2005, 07:08 PM
Zztx said:
Not necessarily corruption, but sheer recklessness:
My brother and I had our individual Gran Turismo 2 savegames. His sucks, I did all the REAL work for him, winning races and all.
Mine was awesome, though; I was actually beating all the races in the game. I had gotten a Super License, won the final international racing series, and had a nice car collection.

Then one I day, I accidentally overwrote my awesome file with his.

Damn damn damn damn damn damn damn damn! http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/doh.gif



The question is, why were you playing with his savegame and not your own.

thefly
03-29-2005, 12:15 AM
motionblur said:
Nothing - I don't value Savegames that high.

I would be pissed if I had a Diablo2 savegame with a level 99 character and lost that .... that *would* suck. But I don't have one.



I had a lvl 78 character. Played him for a long time. Forgot to play him for a long time. Bnet. is a bitch sometimes. http://forums.3drealms.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif