3D Realms Forums

3D Realms Forums (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/index.php)
-   3D Realms Anthology (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   Wolfenstein 3D goes to a black screen when an episode is selected (https://forums.3drealms.com/vb/showthread.php?t=39068)

jpb6891 12-03-2014 10:34 PM

Wolfenstein 3D goes to a black screen when an episode is selected
 
In version 1.1 of the Anthology, Wolfenstein 3D goes to a black screen when an episode is selected. How do I fix this? I can play it using regular DosBox outside of the launcher just fine. Is there anyway to play it properly using the launcher? When I run it as an administrator, it says that Dosbox cannot be found. Also, even the standalone game launcher does the same thing. Is anyone else having this problem?

MrBlackCat 12-04-2014 06:58 PM

Re: Wolfenstein 3D goes to a black screen when an episode is selected
 
I get this also, but if I switch to Windowed it resolves, then back to Full Screen and it is corrected. (alt-Enter)

In my case... I open the game, select a new game, the "Get Psyched" loading screen appears, the loading screen fades out, the game music is generated, but choppy, and there is never a normal "fade in" of the game screen.

I am using Windows XP.

MrBlackCat

NY00123 12-05-2014 12:31 AM

Re: Wolfenstein 3D goes to a black screen when an episode is selected
 
It may be a problem related to VSync being in effect (Wolf3D can draw ~70 distant frames per second, while your display's refresh rate is probably just 60Hz). Try disabling it. In the DOSBox settings (not exactly sure which file, should have a mention of "dosbox" in the name and end with .conf), make sure fulldouble=false (this may be the cause for VSync, hence glitches, just in a full screen). It should have an effect for output=surface and output=ddraw on Windows. For other outputs you may need to disable VSync in a different way.

Alyxx 12-05-2014 04:49 AM

Re: Wolfenstein 3D goes to a black screen when an episode is selected
 
I also had that problem when playing Wolfenstein 3D in DOSBox. Choosing a different output method in the .conf file usually helps. OpenGL support is glitchy in DOSBox.
Nowadays I play Wolfenstein 3D using the ECWolf source port.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Website is 1987-2014 Apogee Software, Ltd.
Ideas and messages posted here become property of Apogee Software Ltd.