Go Back   3D Realms Forums > Blogs > (Survival)Gaming and Rants
Blogs FAQ Community Calendar

Notices

Rate this Entry

Ridiculous Team Fortress 2 achievements

Submit "Ridiculous Team Fortress 2 achievements" to Digg Submit "Ridiculous Team Fortress 2 achievements" to del.icio.us Submit "Ridiculous Team Fortress 2 achievements" to StumbleUpon Submit "Ridiculous Team Fortress 2 achievements" to Google
Posted 08-05-2009 at 06:53 AM by December Man
Updated 05-05-2010 at 08:54 AM by December Man (Added a note on [B]Borscht Belt[/B])

I've been playing TF2 for a couple of months now. The game has a lot which other online games don't, including the weapon unlocks, hats and achievements(which, on a PC, are rare). I personally like achievements and like obtaining them, but some of them are plainly ridiculous and stray way way from the classes' basic role. The situation has improved a lot lately, but the first class packs were notorious for these kind of achievements. Let's deal with them in order:

Medic pack:

[B] Peer Review [/B]

Kill fifty Medics with your bone saw.

Are you serious? What medic, in their right mind, is going to run around with a bone saw, trying to kill enemy medics, during normal gameplay? If that situation ever happens(like one time in a million years) when 2 medics duke it out without outside intervention, I expect them to use their needleguns.

I got this achievement on a melee-only server and I advise everyone to get it there.

[B]Sawbones [/B]

Hit enemies with your bone saw five times in a row without dying or missing.

Very similar situation as the above.

[B]Placebo Effect [/B]

Kill five enemies in a single life, while having your ÜberCharge ready but undeployed.

If you're gonna try to get this on a normal server, your teammates will absolutely hate you for it. Especially after continually failing to get it which is likely, since medics are the first to get headshotted/backstabbed/grenaded/rocketted etc. etc.